Default Alt-Tag

Environmental, social and Human Rights due diligence (ESHR)

Assessment of ESHR issues in accordance with national and international standards 

Sustainability in its various dimensions is an essential aspect of foreign investment promotion by the Federal Republic of Germany. The Federal Government expects the projects benefitting from investment guarantees to adhere to relevant applicable ESHR standards. To establish a coherent procedure within the Foreign Trade and Investment Promotion Scheme, the due diligence process refers to the OECD Common Approaches applied by the Federal Export Credit Guarantees (Hermes Cover).

Additional provisions from international business and Human Rights principles and the German National Action Plan (NAP) on business and Human Rights are also followed.  


Review of ESHR aspects 

SCREENING

To begin with, we check whether the investment requires an enhanced due diligence of ESHR aspects and which ones are particularly relevant. For this purpose, we screen for potential risks of the project to its biological, physical and social environment.  

CLASSIFICATION

Depending on the severity of potential ESHR risks identified in the screening, we classify the project in one of the following categories: A, B and C. The category defines the extent and depth of the review. For category A and B projects, we perform an in-depth ESHR review. For category C projects, a further review will only be necessary for individual risks, in case we identify any during the screening. 

REVIEW

The minimum requirement for granting an investment guarantee is the fulfilment of the host country’s national standards. Investments with relevant ESHR risks are subject to a comprehensive review. Our default benchmark are the provisions of the Performance Standards on Environmental and Social Sustainability of the International Finance Corporation and the sector-specific Environmental, Health and Safety Guidelines of the World Bank Group relevant to the investment. 

Category A projects potentially come with significant adverse ESHR impacts. Consequently, the requirements for the due diligence are higher: an Environmental and Social Impact Assessment report (ESIA) has to be submitted. Reviews of Category B projects will focus on the material risks identified during screening. 

MONITORING

Depending on the relevance of the investment’s risks and impacts, the policyholder will be required to regularly report on the project situation and developments relating to the ESHR aspects. In the case of inconsistencies, the Federal Government may require the project company to take remedial action.   


What information is required? 

Our sustainability experts will perform the assessment of ESHR aspects. They will be happy to guide you through the due diligence process, to assist with the gathering of information and implementation of measures necessary to meet the requirements described above. We recommend getting in contact as early as possible in the application process. 

If deemed necessary, we will carry out field visits to complement the due diligence, involve the German embassies in the host countries or also external experts (consultants) engaged to assist with their expertise. 

More detailed information can also be found in the leaflet – “Environmental, social and Human Rights Aspects”

Pablo von Waldenfels

Project Consulting, Sustainability

Default Alt-Tag

Verfahren zur Prüfung von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekten

Prüfung von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekten nach nationalen und internationalen Vorgaben

Nachhaltigkeit in ihren verschiedenen Dimensionen ist ein wichtiger Aspekt der Außenwirtschaftsförderung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Grundsätzlich werden nur Investitionen gefördert, welche die diesbezüglichen Bedingungen im Anlageland verbessern oder deren mögliche negative Auswirkungen vertretbar sind. Zur Herstellung eines kohärenten Vorgehens innerhalb der Außenwirtschaftsförderinstrumente orientiert sich das Verfahren an den OECD Common Approaches für die Exportkreditgarantien des Bundes. Weitere internationale Leitlinien, z. B. im Bereich Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte sowie der Nationale Aktionsplan Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte werden umgesetzt.

Ablauf der Prüfung von Umwelt-, Sozial und Menschenrechtsaspekten

Screening

Zunächst wird geprüft, ob Ihr Projekt einer vertieften Prüfung der Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekte unterzogen werden muss und welche Aspekte relevant für die Prüfung sind. Hierzu wird das Vorhaben im Hinblick auf seine potenziellen Risiken für das Projektumfeld bewertet.

Kategorisierung

Je nach Umfang der potenziellen Umwelt- und Sozialrisiken erfolgt anschließend eine Einordnung in eine der folgenden 3 Kategorien: A, B und C. Diese legt fest, wie umfangreich die Prüfung ist. Projekte der Kategorie A und B unterliegen einer vertieften Prüfung. Eine weitere Prüfung von Kategorie C Projekten erfolgt allenfalls hinsichtlich einzelner Aspekte, wenn solche im Screening identifiziert worden sind.

Prüfung

Mindestvoraussetzung für die Übernahme einer Garantie ist, dass die nationalen Standards des Anlagelands eingehalten werden. Investitionen mit relevanten umwelt-, sozial- und menschenrechtlichen Risiken werden einer umfassenden Prüfung unterzogen. Als Maßstab werden für die relevanten Bereiche die Performance Standards der International Finance Corporation sowie die sektorenspezifischen Environmental, Health and Safety Guidelines der Weltbankgruppe angelegt.

Kategorie A-Projekte haben potenziell signifikant nachteilige Umwelt-, Sozial- und/oder Menschenrechtsauswirkungen. Entsprechend gelten hier höhere Anforderungen an die Prüfung der möglichen Auswirkungen: Es muss ein Umwelt- und Sozialgutachten (Environment & Social Impact Assessment (ESIA)) vorgelegt werden. Bei Projekten der Kategorie B wird eine Prüfung mit Fokus auf die wesentlichen im Screening identifizierten Risiken mit internationalen Standards vorgenommen. 

Überwachung

Je nach Relevanz der Auswirkungen muss der Garantienehmer regelmäßig über die Situation und weitere Entwicklung des Projekts auch hinsichtlich der Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekte berichten. Im Fall von Beanstandungen kann die Bundesregierung Abhilfe verlangen.


Welche Informationen werden benötigt?

Die Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsprüfung wird von unseren Sustainability Experten betreut. Diese sind gerne bereit, Antragstellern Einzelaspekte der Prüfung zu erläutern und bei der Informationsbeschaffung oder anderen notwendigen Maßnahmen zu unterstützen. Am besten, Sie treten frühzeitig mit ihnen in Kontakt.

Soweit notwendig, werden auch Projektbesichtigungen vor Ort vorgenommen, die deutschen Botschaften vor Ort einbezogen oder auch externe Expertise (Consultants) in Anspruch genommen.

Weitergehende Informationen finden Sie zudem im Merkblatt – „Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekte“.

Pablo von Waldenfels

Projektberatung, Nachhaltigkeit