Default Alt-Tag

Human Rights

Principles

The consideration of Human rights has a high priority within the Foreign Trade and Investment Promotion Scheme of the Federal Republic of Germany. The Federal Government expects the projects benefitting from the instruments of Foreign Trade and Investment Promotion to adhere to relevant environmental, social and Human Rights standards. In their operations companies should observe the established canon of Human Rights. Companies are requested to act in compliance with the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (OECD MNE Guidelines) and to act with due diligence as stipulated in the German National Action Plan on Business and Human Rights aimed at implementing the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights.

Thus, the Federal Government sets high standards for the assessment of investment guarantees. In this regard Human Rights impacts that are directly linked to investment projects have long been an important component of the environmental, social and Human Rights due diligence.

Implementation

Human Rights aspects like the protection of indigenous people, cultural heritage, minorities and vulnerable groups will be assessed within the scope of the due diligence. In addition, the evaluation of occupational health and safety, security, safety and health of the population, legitimacy of land acquisition and resettlement, consultation of the affected population, labour rights (freedom of association, collective bargaining, rights to free movement of workers etc.) and the existence of a grievance mechanism will be considered.

In this regard the reports published by the German National Contact Point for the OECD MNE Guidelines (NCP), the complaints received by the NCP and certain incidents and problems related with a complaint (e.g. non participation of a company) will be taken into consideration when evaluating the eligibility of projects for guarantees. Organizations and individuals can file a complaint with the NCP if they suspect a violation of the OECD MNE Guidelines. The German NCP is located in the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy.

The Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy and the Federal Ministry of Finance together with the ministries responsible for International Human Rights aspects (Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development) decide on a consensual basis, in an Interministerial Committee whether to issue an investment guarantee or not. A guarantee is approved if all Federal departments involved perceive the national and international requirements as being fulfilled.

  

National Action Plan (NAP)

With the adoption of the National Action Plan (NAP) for Business and Human Rights in December 2016 by the German Federal Government, the existing practice for the consideration of Human Rights is further developed and supplemented with the following measures:

  • The Federal Government will ensure that Human Rights, which have hitherto been an element of the environmental and social impact assessment, are given more specific consideration and a higher profile in assessment procedures. To the extent necessary, the current assessment process will be supplemented by a project-related Human Rights Due Diligence.
  • A reference to the high priority of Human Rights aspects as well as to the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the OECD Guidelines on Multinational Enterprises will be included within the application form.
  • The NCP’s role as a grievance mechanism will be strengthened. The German Federal Government reserves the right to exclude the companies that do not participate in the conciliatory proceedings of the NCP from the investment guarantees.




Pablo von Waldenfels

Project Consulting, Sustainability

Default Alt-Tag

Menschenrechte

Grundsätze

Die Berücksichtigung von Menschenrechten nimmt einen hohen Stellenwert in der Außenwirtschaftsförderung ein. Insbesondere bei Projekten, die durch Instrumente der deutschen Außenwirtschaftsförderung unterstützt werden, erwartet die Bundesregierung, dass Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsstandards eingehalten werden. Von den Unternehmen erwartet die Bundesregierung, dass sie bei ihrer Geschäftstätigkeit den etablierten Kanon der Menschenrechte beachten. Die Unternehmen sind aufgefordert, sich gemäß den OECD-Leitsätzen für multinationale Unternehmen (OECD-Leitsätze) zu verhalten und ihrer menschenrechtlichen Sorgfaltspflicht nachzukommen, wie sie im deutschen Nationalen Aktionsplan zur Umsetzung der UN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte (UN-Leitprinzipien) formuliert ist.

Die Bundesregierung stellt daher hohe Anforderungen an die Projektprüfung bei der Übernahme von Investitionsgarantien. Menschenrechtliche Auswirkungen, die einen unmittelbaren Bezug zu den geprüften Projekten haben, sind seit langem ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Prüfung der Umwelt-, Sozial- und Menschenrechtsaspekte

Umsetzung

Im Rahmen dieser Prüfung werden menschenrechtliche Aspekte wie z. B. Arbeitssicherheit, Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Bevölkerung, Rechtmäßigkeit von Landerwerb und Umsiedlung, Schutz indigener Völker, Schutz von Kulturerbe, Konsultationsmöglichkeiten der Betroffenen, Arbeitnehmerrechte (inkl. Versammlungsfreiheit, Recht auf Gewerkschaftsmitgliedschaft, Recht auf Bewegungsfreiheit etc.), der Schutz von Minderheiten und besonders verletzlichen Gruppen sowie die Existenz eines Beschwerdemechanismus untersucht. 

In diesem Zusammenhang werden die veröffentlichten Berichte der Nationalen Kontaktstelle für die OECD-Leitsätze (NKS), bei der NKS eingegangene Beschwerden sowie bestimmte damit zusammenhängende Ereignisse und Problemstellungen (z. B. die Nichtteilnahme eines Unternehmens, s. u.) in der Projektprüfung berücksichtigt. An die NKS können sich Organisationen sowie Einzelpersonen wenden, wenn sie der Auffassung sind, dass gegen die OECD-Leitsätze verstoßen wurde. Die deutsche NKS ist beim Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) angesiedelt.

Das BMWi und das Bundesministerium der Finanzen entscheiden im Interministeriellen Ausschuss zusammen mit den innerhalb der Bundesregierung für internationale Aspekte der Menschenrechte verantwortlichen Ministerien (Auswärtiges Amt und Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung), ob Investitionsgarantien übernommen werden oder nicht. Die Entscheidungen werden im Konsens getroffen. Eine Indeckungnahme erfolgt, wenn alle beteiligten Ressorts die nationalen und internationalen Vorgaben erfüllt sehen.

Nationaler Aktionsplan (NAP)

In Umsetzung des Nationalen Aktionsplans Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte der Bundesregierung vom Dezember 2016 wurden die bestehenden Maßnahmen weiterentwickelt und ergänzt:

  • Den Menschenrechten, die bislang schon einen Teilaspekt der Umwelt- und Sozialprüfung darstellten, wird eine stärkere Eigenständigkeit und Sichtbarkeit im Prüfverfahren eingeräumt. Soweit dies erforderlich ist, werden die bestehenden Prüfverfahren durch eine projektbezogene Human Rights Due Diligence ergänzt. 
  • In den Antragsformularen wird ein Hinweis auf den hohen Stellenwert von menschenrechtlichen Aspekten sowie auf die UN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte und die OECD-Leitsätze für multinationale Unternehmen aufgenommen.
  • Die NKS wird als Beschwerdestelle gestärkt. Die Bundesregierung behält sich vor, Unternehmen, die nicht am Schlichtungsverfahren der Nationalen Kontaktstelle teilnehmen, von Investitionsgarantien auszuschließen.


Pablo von Waldenfels

Projektberatung, Nachhaltigkeit